Our Story

  • Organized in May of 1886, Citizens Bank is the oldest incorporated bank in Crawford County and one of the oldest in the State of Arkansas.
  • Founded by an attorney named B.J. Brown
  • The Board of Directors of Vista Bancorporation, the one bank holding company of Citizens Bank & Trust Company, in 1994 announced their agreement to merge with First Bank Corporation of Fort Smith, a bank holding company whose members include First National Bank of Fort Smith and National Bank of Sallisaw in Sallisaw, Oklahoma.
  • As the bank prepares for the future, it is dedicated and committed to the values of its past. The bank’s commitment is to treat its customers fairly, practice its profession with integrity, and be a leading corporate citizen. This has enabled the bank’s success for over 125 years.

Our Mission

“We are in business to make our customers successful. As a financial ally, we will offer products, service and expertise through a customer-focused effort. Any success the Bank enjoys will depend upon the success of our customers.”

I wish to extend a warm greeting from everyone at Citizens Bank & Trust Company. It is a privilege to serve the banking needs of Crawford County and the surrounding area. We are proud of the products and services we offer and trust our contributions and use of resources have a positive impact on the community. Our mission, over the past 125 years, has not changed. We want to be a financial partner for your success. So today as in the past we are grateful for, and firmly committed to, our customers and this community.

If you bank elsewhere, I invite you to see what a different relationship you will have with your hometown bank. I think you will like our future… together.



D. Keith Hefner

President & CEO

Board of Directors

James G. Williamson, Jr.
Citizens Bank & Trust Company
Chairman of the Board

J. Kevin Bell
Jimmy Bell Real Estate Company

Dr. Jeremy Simon
Simon Family Dentistry

Morril H. Harriman
Mitchell, Williams, Selig, Gates & Woodyard, P.L.L.C.

D. Keith Hefner
Citizens Bank & Trust Company
President & CEO

Brett D. Peters
Hawkins-Weir Engineers,Inc.

Paul Shirley
Certified Public Accountant

Mont S. Echols, Jr.
First National Bank of Fort Smith
Chairman of the Board

L. Scott McBrayer
Hawkins-Weir Engineers Inc.
McBrayer Engineering

William W. Thomas
Citizens Bank & Trust Company


D. Keith Hefner
President & CEO
NMLS# 477189

Brent Taylor
Chief Operating Officer
NMLS# 1139937

Lance L. Lanier
Executive Vice President
NMLS# 489438

Joe D. Ryan
Senior Vice President
NMLS# 477200

Joe Dan Stewart
Senior Vice President – Cashier

Phyllis Billingsley
Vice President
NMLS# 477198

Mary F. Blount
Vice President

Darla J. Brown
Vice President
NMLS# 477196

J. Alan DeFrees
Vice President
NMLS# 207338

Russell Johnson
Vice President
NMLS# 953207

Charla J. Munyak
Vice President


Joyce L. Smith

Vice President

Shayna Butcher
Assistant Vice President

Teri Heaton
Vice President

Kelly Keener
Assistant Vice President

Melinda McBride
Vice President

Cathy Wasko
Assistant Vice President

Heather Kinsey
Assistant Vice President

Brittaney Taylor
Branch Officer – North Hills

Pam Collins
Mortgage Operations Officer

Reba Collins
Branch Officer – Alma

Beverly Johnson
Loan Officer
NMLS# 477194

Laci Stowe
Assistant Vice President
NMLS# 989695

Daniel Lamproe 

Investment Services Officer

R. David Short
Collateral Evaluation Officer

Jared Speaker
IT Officer

Cindy Winborn
Trust Officer

Ashley Reed
Vice President
NMLS # 1160344

Ashley Parks
Branch officer – Cedarville

Donna Bishop
Branch Officer – Downtown

Debbie Roark
Branch Officer – Main Bank

Brad Martin
Loan Officer – Downtown Branch
NMLS# 1209644

Melissa Strange
Loan Administration Officer- Main Bank

Citizens Bank & Trust Company
NMLS #421329